In Tarot we have four suits that represent each of the four elements that describe what makes us our lives.

Cups = Water: Our Emotions, our feelings and our spirituality.

Wands = Fire: Our passion, our confidence, our creativity, our energy.

Swords = Air: Our intellect, our communication, our logic and our objectivity.

Pentacles = Earth: Our practical and physical world experience, Our money, our career, our bodies and our security.

Numbers 1-10 tells us what we are doing and what’s going on

The Royals (or Court Cards) tell us how to use the energy OR what people are involved.

The four suits: click each card to see the full meaning.

The Suit of Cups

Here in the suit of Cups it’s all about feeling.  Emotion and intuition are the driving forces here in this section.  Love drives the suit of cups; Love not just in it’s romantic form, (although that’s a big part of it), but in it’s larger form.  Love leads us through all the emotional experiences and when it doesn’t go to plan or we feel it’s lack, we feel the effects of it’s absence loud and clear. Learning emotional mastery helps us through those tough times and the journey though the suit of cups shows us how it’s it’s done.

King of Cups tarot card
King of cups
Queen of cups tarot card
Queen of Cups
Knight of cups tarot card
Knight of Cups
The Page of Cups tarot card
Page of Cups
Ace of Cups tarot card
Ace of cups
Two of cups tarot card
2 of Cups
Three of cups tarot card
3 of Cups
The Four of Cups tarot card
4 of Cups
The Five of Cups tarot card
5 of Cups
The Six of Cups tarot car
6 of cups
The Seven of Cups tarot card
7 of Cups
The Eight of Cups tarot card
8 of Cups
The Nine of Cups tarot card
9 of Cups
The Ten of Cups tarot card
10 of Cups

The Suit of Wands

In the suit of Wands it’s all about energy.  The ability to have confidence in ourselves and to use our will power and determination in life is so important.  The fire energy of Wands talks about our ability to create and to make things happen.  Our passion for life and our drive are what gives us the feeling that we can change things.  We don’t have to accept the status quo; we can make things the way we want them to be. Learning how to master our own energy is hugely important.  If we don’t we may find ourselves, burning out or just running out of steam rather than seeing things through.

The King of Wands tarot card
King of Wands
The Queen of Wands tarot card
Queen of Wands
The Knight of Wands tarot card
Knight of Wands
The Page of Wands tarot card
Page of Wands
The Ace of Wands tarot card
Ace of Wands
The Two of Wands tarot card
2 of Wands
The Three of Wands tarot card
3 of Wands
The Four of Wands tarot card
4 of Wands
The Five of Wands tarot card
5 of Wands
The Six of Wands tarot card
6 of Wands
The Seven of Wands tarot card
7 of Wands
The Eight of Wands tarot card
8 of Wands
The Nine of Wands tarot card
9 of Wands
The Ten of Wands tarot card
10 of Wands

The Suit of Swords

In the suit of Swords it’s all about the power of our intellect and our communication with others. Here we disengage with emotion in order to apply logic and strategy to our world.  Swords are represented by the element of air, we cannot see our thoughts but like air they are ever present.  How we use them though is the lesson here.  If we allow our thoughts to rule us then we often find ourselves in permanent conflict, we must use our thoughts and our words wisely.  There is no sentiment in swords communication, it’s a sharp double-edged tool that can be used positively or negatively.  Again, it’s all about learning mastery so that we can intelligently communicate with each other and face life challenges with integrity and bravery.

King of Swords tarot card
King of Swords
The Queen of Swords tarot card
Queen of Swords
The Knight of Swords tarot card
Knight of Swords
The Page of Swords tarot card
Page of Swords
Ace of Swords tarot card
Ace of Swords
The Two of Swords tarot card
2 of Swords
The Three of Swords tarot card
3 of Swords
The Four of Swords tarot card
4 of Swords
The Five of Swords tarot card
5 of Swords
The Six of Swords tarot card
6 of Swords
The Seven of Swords tarot card
7 of Swords
The Eight of Swords tarot card
8 of Swords
The Nine of Swords tarot card
9 of Swords
The Ten of Swords tarot card
10 of Swords

The Suit of Pentacles

In the suit of Pentacles we meet the world of our earthly experiences.  Pentacles are represented by the element of earth and are don’t have the inspiring unseen energetic power of Love, Creativity, Passion or Intellect.  This is the less exciting, slower moving world of the everyday.  This is where we learn to handle money, planning for the future, where we build and form the world around us.  The practical application of human life.  This is what we ‘do’.  It also refers to our physical bodies and our well-being.  This suit shapes our ability to create worldly abundance and also is fundamental in our self-esteem and our personal responsibility.

King of Pentacles tarot card
King of Pentacles
The Queen of Pentacles tarot card
Queen of Pentacles
The Knight of Pentacles tarot card
Knight of Pentacles
The Page of Pentacles tarot card
Page of Pentacle
Ace of Pentacles tarot card
Ace of Pentacles
The Two of Pentacles tarot card
2 of Pentacles
The Three of Pentacles tarot card
3 of Pentacles
The Four of Pentacles tarot card
4 of Pentacle
The Five of Pentacles tarot card
5 of Pentacles
The Six of Pentacles tarot card
6 of Pentacles
The Seven of Pentacles tarot card
7 of Pentacles
The Eight of Pentacles tarot card
8 of Pentacles
The Nine of Pentacles tarot card
9 of Pentacles
The Ten of Pentacles tarot card
10 of Pentacles